Calling All Bookmarks

Are you using Firefox yet? It has all kinds of cool features, like this one for managing bookmarks:

Imagine you need to research some topic. You start at Google, and you go down a path until you can’t take it any more. In my experience, two things happen:

  • You have to go, so you shut down your computer and tell yourself you can find all those same links again in the future if you need them.
  • You’re over it, so you shut down your browser and tell yourself you can find all those same links again in the future if you need them.

First of all, remember that you can open new links in tabs in Firefox. So you can have all the sites you’ve followed on a topic open in a single browser session. Now, let’s say you have to go for some reason. You can go to Bookmarks | Bookmark All Tabs, and all the sites you have opened are saved as bookmarks in a folder you designate. How cool is that?

The other day I needed to do a quick reboot but I didn’t want to lose my place, so I used the Bookmark All Tabs feature and saved all my open tabs to a folder called Reboot. When I opened Firefox back up, I right-clicked on the Reboot folder and clicked Open in Tabs. My browser session from before my reboot was restored. I just used this again to save a bunch of research I did on Windows Mobile. Bookmark All Tabs is a huge time saver.

