Tiered Billing Finally Comes to the Internet

According to CNN, America’s phone carriers want to use tiered billing to create different levels of service for Internet traffic. I remember reading about this billing software back in the late nineties. I wonder how much of this additional cost will actually get pushed down to the average user. I’d imagine that folks using services that require higher priority like VOIP, video streaming, and gaming may have to buy premium Internet access while the rest of use the cheaper, throttled-down access.

As far as I’m concerned, the cost-to-value ratio for Internet access isn’t where it needs to be. I pay about $50 a month for cable broadband and another $27 on top of that for VOIP. I’m not amused. I’d like to spend in the neighborhood of $20 to $30 a month for high-speed Internet access, telephone, and cellular phone with data. I’ll dump my access altogether before I’ll pay more.

