Getting Nervous

I ordered a barebones system from Monarch Computer on June 14. I expected it to ship in about five days based on information on their Web site. On 6/26, I received an e-mail from them informing me they’re running a few days late on my order. I’m OK with that, but here’s the rub: They’ve got my money.

That’s right. They charged my credit card on 6/14. I thought that was a little fishy at the time, but I wasn’t too worried because I figured I’d have my computer in about a week or so.

Wait, it gets better. On their Web site, they encourage you to go to ResellerRatings.com to read about how wonderful they are. I took them up on their offer, and this is where the getting nervous part takes over. I read review after review about how they charge your credit card first, ship later (sometimes much later), and give you the runaround in between. Sigh. I’m still hoping for the best.

Update: 20 minutes after I sent Monarch an e-mail to inquire about my computer, my order’s status was updated from Barebone Test (where it has been for the past seven days or so) to Barebone Build. Presumably that means I’ll see a shipped status sometime soon.

