Customizing the My Places Bar in Office

I save all my manuscript-related files to a share on a file server. Everytime I needed to open a document, I had to browse to the network share. Instead of browsing each time, I added a shortcut to the network share in the My Places bar in Word 2003.

My Places is the bar that you see on the left side of the Open screen when you open a file. By default, it includes shortcuts to Desktop, My Documents, and other commonly used items. To add a shortcut to the My Places bar in Word 2003:

  1. Press Ctrl+O in Word 2003 to open the Open dialog box.
  2. Browse to the location you want to create a shortcut to.
  3. Click the Tools drop-down list.
  4. Click Add to “My Places” from the Tools drop-down list. The shortcut appears in My Places.

For more details on customizing the My Places bar, see this article on Microsoft’s Web site. The My Places bar was called the Places bar in Office 2000. You must edit the registry to add or remove items from the Places bar. See this knowledge base article for details.

