The Headaches of a Domain Transfer

My domain registration expires tomorrow, and I’ve been working on transferring my domain to a new registrar. The process is more stressful than it should be. I needed to transfer my domain and find a new place to host my Web site. Of course, e-mail is wrapped up in those services, too, so I had to make sure the transition was as seemless as possible. Needless to say, I got absolutely no support from my current service provider, Network Solutions.

I moved away from Network Solutions for two reasons: They’re too expensive, and their Web hosting packages don’t support ASP.NET 2.0. The last time I checked with them, they couldn’t give me any time frame as to when they’d support 2.0. So I decided to find a cheaper registrar (GoDaddy), and host who supports ASP.NET 2.0 (DiscountASP.net).

So here’s the basic process for transferring my domain and setting up a new hosting account:

  • Open new accounts with the registrar (GoDaddy) and the hosting service (DiscountASP.net)
  • Unlock my domain with Network Solutions and verify my contact information
  • Enter e-mailed confirmation numbers in GoDaddy’s Web site to confirm that I do, indeed, wish to transfer my domains
  • Receive e-mail notification from Network Solutions.
  • Wait, wait, and wait. In the meantime, I moved my Web site files to the new host and tested everything. I’m just waiting on Network Solutions.
  • Phone Network Solutions to make sure we’re good to go. They tell me they have no record of my transfer request. Panic slightly.
  • Phone Network Solutions again after remembering that they sent me an email to confirm the transfer. Oh, suddenly they found the request. The rep informs that I need to click the link in the email to confirm the transfer request. Huh? The email states that I should click the link if I wish to cancel the request. The rep assures me that if I click the link that I can confirm the request, which speeds everything up.
  • I click the link. Sure enough. The request goes through immediately. But wait, I’m not ready for the request to go through immediately. Had I known what would happen, I would’ve clicked the link at night after business hours.
  • Scramble to update the nameservers with my new registrar and set up new email accounts.
  • Test the Web site. It’s up!
  • Wait for the changes to propagate throughout the DNS system.
  • Test email. Doesn’t work. Wait. Test email. Doesn’t work. Wait. Test email. Works with Gmail, but not Yahoo. Wait. Test. Wait. After about an hour, I seemed to have fully functional email.

I’m up and running after many hours of fretting and testing. All this could’ve been much less stressful had Network Solution been more forthcoming about how the process works in their email. No, instead their email was all about how they don’t want to lose me as a customer – not giving me the information that I need to manage this process. They already lost me as a customer when they told me they had no idea why version 2.0 of ASP.NET was important. Now they’ve lost any chance that I would ever return.

