Replacing display hinge on Lenovo X61 Tablet

The hinge on my Lenovo X61 tablet started making awful noises several months ago. It finally stopped working altogether. I ordered the part from ACS for about $50 and replaced it myself using Lenovo’s training videos. The part I ordered was FRU 42W2545. It looked like a salvage part – a little scratched, but what I needed.

After Repair

Before repair

After watching the removal and assembly videos several times, the process was pretty easy:

  • Remove all the A, B, and C screws from the back of the laptop.
  • Remove the keyboard and palm rest – this sort of happens at the same time.
  • Remove the LCD extender board – use a precision screwdriver and keep track of the screws because they are three different sizes.
  • Disconnect the wires from the system board – not as bad as I expected.
  • Remove the four screws holding the LCD to the base and lift up. The LCD should come off.
  • Remove the nine screws holding the bezel on the LCD. Don’t forget the one in the bottom middle like I did.
  • Pull the wires through the hinge and unscrew the hinge.

The whole thing took about three hours. See my gallery for a few pics of the process.

